Getting My News

Samuel Sutlive September 1st, 2012, 8:46 a.m.

Getting My News

     If I want to know what is going on in my neighborhood in Oconee County, I might visit my friends and neighbors the Kennedys. I will have a nice chat with their family and see what their plans are and what they have heard about this event or that event. If I want to know about the issues and events that are happening in my town and larger community I will read the print and online version of my local newspaper. If I want to know what is happening nationally and internationally I am going to read news papers and news organizations, such as The New York Times and the Associated Press. In a News article by Poynter titled: Survey: Public Prefers News from Professional Journalist, in which Poynter did a random sampling of 1,015 U.S. adults of users and non-users of mobile media in the first quarter of 2012 60.6% of adults overall care where their news is coming from. Based on the same sampling overall 60.4% of adults do not get their news from people they trust. Overall 31.1% of adults distrust the mainstream news media, 32.1% are neutral and 36.7% trust the mainstream media. The CORRECTION THE PREVIOUS IMAGE WAS NOT MINE BUT THE SELCA IS

One thought on “Getting My News

  1. So interesting that Americans are split equally between distrusting our media, trusting our media, and neutral! What does that say about us?

Leave a Reply

